Photo

Mindy Meyers, Senate? 22 years old, frum girl!

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 SUMMERSUP

SUMMERSUP

• Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 24 July 2012 - 09:45 AM

Has everyone seen this already a young frum girl is going to go for senate!

Mindy Meyer has dubbed herself "the first young woman in the history of New York to run for New York State Senate." She's definitely the first to do so with such a natural understanding of how to get noticed on the Internet: Meyer, an Orthodox Jewish 22-year-old from Brooklyn, caught viral fire today based on the flashy genius of her hot-pink campaign website, which sports the lmto-inspired slogan "I'm Senator and I Know It." (She's not. Yet.)

"I can tell you one thing, I have no experience in corruption," Meyers declares on the site. "This is how politics has to change. There is always corruption, but I have the intention to follow my values and ensure that none of what happens in my district is corrupt." But wait, there's more.

Titled in leopard print, the "Issues" section of the site includes the promise "No more 'Hunger Games' in our District!" (in reference to unemployment) next to a photo of Meyer with a toy bow and arrow, just like Katniss. Additionally, "Mindy intends to crack down on crime."

But she's not joking: The law-school student and judicial intern really is running in Brooklyn's 21st District on both Republican and conservative party lines, challenging current State Senator Kevin Parker. "I'm trying to attract a young crowd and recruit more young people ... My idea is to make it very contemporary, funky, cool, not like a typical senator’s website," Meyer tells City & State today. "Have you been to Kevin Parker's website? You could fall asleep when you go to it, everything's just red, white and blue."